Lyropera, an introduction

“Lyropera”  is the familiar sobriquet of Lyric Opera of the Philippines.  Our mission is to present opera productions of outstanding quality, and to nurture an appreciation of opera, music, and the performing arts through education and outreach.

Lyropera strives to revive the golden age of opera in the Philippines, to recognize and emulate the contributions of local classical greats like Irma Potenciano, Conching Rosal, Gloria Coronel, Armida Siguon-Reyna, Salvacion Yniguez, Mercedes Matias Santiago, Sylvia La Torre, Fides Cuyugan-Asencio, Mamerto Villaba, Gamaliel Viray, Manny Gregorio, Aurelio Estanislao and other legends.

The current board/officers of Lyropera include the following:

Honorary Chairperson:  Irma Potenciano

President:  Juan Alberto Gaerlan

Corporate Secretary/Legal: Kay Balajadia-Liggayu

Treasurer/Business:  Sherwin Sozon

Board member:  Ana Feleo

Board member:  Randy Gilongo